Visa and immigration

The conditions to enter and stay in Luxembourg do not only depend on the length of the planned stay but also on the country of origin of the foreign national who is making the request.

Duration of stay

Special cases

Your rights regarding the processing of personal data for immigration procedures at the Immigration Directorate of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs

In the exercise of its public interest mission, the Directorate of Immigration of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs collects and uses your personal data to allow the processing of your file according to the provisions of the amended law of the 29 August 2008 on the free movement of persons and immigration.

The data collected by the Directorate of Immigration can also be used to update your data in the National Register of Natural Persons as well as for statistical purposes. The data can also be used to verify the regularity of your stay under the provisions of the amended law of August 29, 2008 mentioned above, by other administrations and ministries in the context of other procedures, such as the procedure of acquisition of the Luxembourg nationality at the Ministry of Justice.

The data processed, or part of them, necessary for the accomplishment of a public mission, might be communicated or made accessible to other authorities, who are authorized to access it according to a legal provisions (“Office luxembourgeois d’accueil et d’intégration”, Ministry of Health, Ministry of Justice).

The data are kept for the duration of the processing of the file at the Directorate of Immigration and for as long as necessary to fulfill the purposes mentioned above.

You have a right to access, rectify and delete your data, as well as a right of objection and a right to demand the limitation of treatment, under certain conditions and unless the treatment is necessary for the administration to carry out a public interest mission.

If you wish to exercise these rights or for any request relating to data protection, you can contact the Directorate of the immigration of the Ministry of the Foreign and European Affairs (BP 752, L-2017 Luxembourg) by postal mail accompanied by a proof of identity. Complaints may addressed to the Data Protection Officer (Commissaire à la protection des données auprès de l’Etat, 43, bd Roosevelt L-1450 Luxembourg).

Complaints may be lodged with the National Commission for the Protection of Data (CNPD) (1, Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette).

Last update

Visa et immigration

Les conditions d’entrée et de séjour au Luxembourg dépendent non seulement de la durée du séjour envisagé mais aussi du pays d'origine du ressortissant qui en fait la demande.

Durée du séjour

Cas spécifiques

Vos droits concernant les traitements des données personnelles pour les démarches liées à l’immigration auprès de la Direction de l’immigration du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes

Dans le cadre de l’exercice de ses missions d’intérêt public, la Direction de l’immigration du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes collecte et utilise vos données personnelles afin de permettre le traitement de votre dossier selon les dispositions de la loi modifiée du 29 août 2008 sur la libre circulation des personnes et l’immigration.

Les données collectées par la Direction de l’immigration peuvent également être utilisées pour mettre à jour vos données au Registre national des personnes physiques ainsi qu’à des fins statistiques. Les données peuvent également être utilisées pour vérifier la régularité de votre séjour en vertu des dispositions de la loi modifiée du 29 août 2008 précitée, ceci également par d’autres administrations et ministères dans le contexte d’autres démarches, telles que la procédure d’acquisition de la nationalité luxembourgeoise auprès du ministère de la Justice.

Les données traitées, ou partie d’entre elles, nécessaires à l’accomplissement d’une mission publique, sont susceptibles d’être communiquées ou rendues accessibles à d’autres autorités, habilitées à y accéder en application d’une disposition légale (Office luxembourgeois d’accueil et d’intégration, Direction de la Santé, ministère de la Justice).

Les données sont conservées pendant la durée de traitement du dossier à la Direction de l’immigration et aussi longtemps que nécessaire pour accomplir les finalités précitées.

Vous disposez d’un droit d’accès, de rectification et d’effacement de vos données, de même qu’un droit d’opposition et d’un droit d’exiger la limitation du traitement, sous certaines conditions et à moins que le traitement ne soit nécessaire à l’exécution d’une mission d’intérêt public.

Si vous souhaitez exercer ces droits ou pour toute demande relative à la protection des données, vous pouvez vous adresser, par courrier postal accompagné d’une preuve d’identité, à la Direction de l’immigration du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes (B.P.752, L-2017 Luxembourg). Les réclamations pourront être introduites auprès du Commissaire à la protection des données de l’Etat (43, bd Roosevelt L-1450 Luxembourg).

La Commission nationale pour la protection des données (CNPD) (1, Avenue du Rock'n'Roll, L-4361 Esch-sur-Alzette) peut être saisie le cas échéant d’une plainte.

Dernière mise à jour