Arrivals in Luxembourg - Ukraine

In the context of the arrival in Luxembourg of people fleeing the war in Ukraine, specific procedures have been set up to welcome and assist them, including those people that have already arrived in Luxembourg.

Registration of displaced persons and temporary protection

All displaced persons arriving in Luxembourg from Ukraine are kindly requested to make their presence known and to communicate their contact details to the Directorate of Immigration of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs by submitting the following form to: immigration.desk@mae.etat.lu

This information helps the Luxembourgish authorities to contact them with a view to apply for temporary protection.

Temporary protection status is a specific protection status applied at EU level for people who have fled the war in Ukraine. It is available to anyone who was a resident of Ukraine before 24 February 2022 and who arrived in Luxembourg on or shortly before 24 February 2022. It applies to Ukrainian nationals and their family members, but also to nationals of third countries other than Ukraine who have resided in Ukraine, and who are unable to return to their country or region of origin in safe and durable conditions.

More detailed information on the procedure to follow in order to introduce an application for temporary protection status, as well as on the rights conferred by temporary protection status, can be found on the following website:

https://guichet.public.lu/en/citoyens/immigration/ukraine/protection-temporaire.html

While waiting to be contacted by the Luxembourg authorities with a view to submitting an application for temporary protection, people fleeing the war in Ukraine do not need to take any particular steps to stay in Luxembourg.

Accommodation and offers for private housing

The government has set-up a an emergency initial reception centre (“primo-accueil d’urgence”) in order to host persons fleeing the war in Ukraine. This emergency reception centre, accessible 24/7, is situated at rue Tony Rollman in Luxembourg-Kirchberg (near the National Sports and Cultural Centre « Coque »). The center will provide shelter during the first couple of days, as well as food and items of primary necessity, for people wishing to request temporary protection in Luxembourg.

Pets are allowed at the initial reception centre, where a special area has been set up for them. The Administration of Veterinary Services will ensure the regularization of the animals at the emergency accommodation structure.

Every Luxembourg resident who have offered or are offering to host Ukraine nationals at their home are requested to contact the Hotline managed by Caritas and the Red Cross, with the support of the Ministry of Family Affairs, Integration and the Greater Region at +352 621 796 780 or via email: Ukraine@zesummeliewen.lu.

Material donations

Persons wishing to make a material donation may consult the following website for further details: https://ona.gouvernement.lu/en/service/aide-pour-dpi.html

Job offers

Employers wishing to hire beneficiaries of temporary protection can contact the ADEM, Employers Department, directly: +352 247 88000 ; email : employeur@adem.etat.lu

Consular assistance

Consular questions pertaining to people fleeing the war in Ukraine with Luxembourg as a destination should be addressed to the Consular assistance of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs: assistance.consulaire@mae.etat.lu or +352 2478 2386.

Important information for initiatives in the area of private transport

Any private transport initiative to the Ukrainian border is the sole responsibility of the organisers.

The Ministry advises any private person, who plans to launch such an initiative that the reception and accommodation of the displaced people in question, who are often traumatized by the events they experienced, must be guaranteed. The Ministry strongly recommends to all persons planning such trips to contact the Ministry at transport.ukraine@mae.etat.lu before any potential departure.

For now, and while all the competent authorities are working at full speed to welcome people fleeing the war in Ukraine in the best possible conditions, and to process their applications for temporary protection status, we ask Luxembourg citizens and residents not to organise large scale transports unless private arrangements for short and medium term accommodation have been made by the organisers for the displaced persons concerned.

The Ministry draws attention to the number of unaccompanied children and without official documents on board of transports, for which the organisers are fully responsible. The organisers of private transport initiatives are advised to make sure that minors are not being trafficked.

Last update

Accueil de personnes - Ukraine

Dans le cadre de l’accueil de personnes fuyant la guerre en Ukraine, des procédures ont été mises en place pour accueillir et encadrer les personnes déplacées en provenance d’Ukraine, y compris celles qui sont déjà arrivées.

Enregistrement des personnes déplacées et protection temporaire

Toutes les personnes déplacées qui arrivent au Luxembourg en provenance d'Ukraine sont priées de se manifester auprès de la direction de l'Immigration du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes en communiquant leurs coordonnées à l’aide du formulaire suivant, selon les instructions y indiquées. Le formulaire devra être envoyé à l’adresse email suivante : immigration.desk@mae.etat.lu

Ces informations aideront les autorités luxembourgeoises à prendre contact avec les personnes concernées en vue de l’introduction d'une demande de protection temporaire.

La protection temporaire est un statut de protection spécifique activé au niveau européen en faveur des personnes ayant fui la guerre en Ukraine. Elle est accessible aux personnes qui ont résidé en Ukraine avant le 24 février 2022 et qui sont arrivées au Luxembourg depuis le 24 février 2022, ou peu avant. Ceci concerne les ressortissants ukrainiens et leurs membres de famille, mais également les ressortissants de pays tiers autres que l’Ukraine qui ont résidé en Ukraine, pour autant qu’ils ne sont pas en mesure de rentrer dans leur pays ou leur région d’origine dans des conditions sûres et durables.

Des informations plus détaillées sur la procédure à suivre en vue de l’introduction d’une demande de protection temporaire, ainsi que sur les droits conférés par la protection temporaire, sont disponibles sur le site internet suivant : https://guichet.public.lu/fr/citoyens/immigration/ukraine/protection-temporaire.html

En attendant qu’elles soient contactées en vue de l’introduction d’une demande de protection temporaire, les personnes en provenance d’Ukraine n’ont pas besoin d’effectuer des démarches particulières pour séjourner au Luxembourg.

Hébergement et offres privées de logement

Le gouvernement a mis en place un centre de primo-accueil pour héberger des personnes fuyant la guerre en Ukraine. Ce centre de primo-accueil, ouvert 24h/24, 7j/7, est situé rue Tony Rollman à Luxembourg-Kirchberg (près du Centre National Sportif et Culturel « Coque »). Ce centre propose un abri pour les premiers jours et des repas ainsi que des produits de première nécessité, pour les personnes souhaitant demander une protection au Luxembourg.

Les animaux domestiques ne sont pas autorisés au Centre de primo-accueil Tony Rollman.

Tous les résidents luxembourgeois qui ont offert ou proposent d’héberger des ressortissants ukrainiens à leur domicile sont invités à contacter la Hotline gérée par Caritas et la Croix-Rouge avec le soutien du Ministère de la Famille, de l’Intégration et à la Grande Région au +352 621 796 780 ou à s’adresser par email à Ukraine@zesummeliewen.lu.

Dons matériels

Les personnes qui souhaitent faire un don matériel peuvent consulter le site suivant pour de plus amples détails : https://ona.gouvernement.lu/fr/service/aide-pour-dpi.html

Offres d’emploi

Les employeurs qui désirent engager des bénéficiaires d’une protection temporaire peuvent s’adresser directement au Service employeurs de l’ADEM (au +352 247 88000 ; email : employeur@adem.etat.lu).

Assistance consulaire

Pour toute question consulaire pour des personnes fuyant la guerre en Ukraine à destination du Luxembourg, il est recommandé d’envoyer un email à l’adresse de l’Assistance consulaire du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes : assistance.consulaire@mae.etat.lu, ou d’appeler le +352 2478 2386.

Informations importantes pour les initiatives privées de transport

Toute organisation de transport privé vers la frontière ukrainienne est de la seule responsabilité des organisateurs.

Le ministère donne à considérer à toute personne privée qui envisage de lancer une telle initiative que l’accueil et l’hébergement doivent être garantis afin d’accueillir les personnes fuyant la guerre en Ukraine et qui sont souvent traumatisées par les évènements vécus. Le ministère recommande vivement aux citoyens planifiant de tels trajets de contacter le ministère à l’adresse transport.ukraine@mae.etat.lu avant tout éventuel départ.

A ce stade, et pendant que tous les services compétents travaillent à plein régime pour accueillir dans les meilleures conditions les personnes fuyant la guerre et pour traiter leurs demandes pour le statut de protection temporaire, nous demandons aux citoyens et résidents luxembourgeois de ne plus organiser de transports à grande échelle à moins que des arrangements privés pour le logement à court et moyen terme aient été faits par les organisateurs pour les personnes à transporter. 

Le ministère attire l’attention sur le nombre d’enfants non accompagnés et sans documents officiels à bord de convois pour lesquels les organisateurs sont entièrement responsables. Les personnes à l’origine d’initiatives privées de transport sont avisées de s’assurer que les mineurs ne font pas l’objet de traite des êtres humains.

Dernière mise à jour