General secretariat

The General Secretariat is responsible for coordinating the services of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the diplomatic and consular missions. Its role, in close coordination with the Department’s 8 Directorates, is to ensure the foreign policy’s coherence and the proper functioning of diplomatic and consular missions.

The General Secretariat also ensures communication between the ministry and the Grand Ducal Palace, the Chamber of deputies, other ministerial Departments, the Government Council and the public authorities.

The General Secretariat’s responsibilities also include chairing and providing Secretariat and accounting services for the Comité de coordination pour l’installation d’institutions et d’organismes européens.

Within the general secretariat, the legal service coordinates the management of legal files and questions for which the Ministry has a competence, in particular matters of public international law.

Related to the legal service, the treaties service is primarily responsible for the procedure whereby Luxembourg ratifies international treaties in close collaboration with the ministerial departments and public authorities capable of providing the necessary information in order to set in motion and conduct the Parliamentary approval procedure for an international act.

In terms of communication, the General Secretariat ensures the consistent dissemination of institutional and ministerial information to the general public through various communication channels. To ensure structured communication, the General Secretariat has set up a cellule d’information et de communication (information and communication cell) (ICC) made up of the Deputy Secretary General, the general coordinator of Luxembourg’s image, the minister’s press secretary as well as further agents responsible for external communication.

The General Secretariat also manages the IT tool and website, the archives and correspondence, and the Ministry’s diplomatic and consular missions’ security.

Last update

Secrétariat général

Le Secrétariat général est responsable de la coordination des services du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes ainsi que des missions diplomatiques et consulaires. Il a pour mission d’assurer, en étroite collaboration avec les 8 Directions du Département, la cohérence de la politique étrangère et de veiller au bon fonctionnement des missions diplomatiques et consulaires.

Le Secrétariat général assure encore la communication du ministère avec le Palais grand-ducal, la Chambre des députés, les autres Départements ministériels, le Conseil de gouvernement et les Administrations.

Parmi ses responsabilités, le Secrétariat général assure également la présidence, le secrétariat et la comptabilité du Comité de coordination pour l’installation d’institutions et d’organismes européens.

Au sein du Sécrétariat général, le Service juridique assure la gestion des dossiers et questions juridiques sous compétence du Ministère, plus particulièrement les questions de droit international public.

Lié au Service juridique, le Service des traités est prioritairement responsable de la procédure de ratification des traités internationaux par le Luxembourg, ceci en étroite collaboration avec les Départements ministériels et les Administrations susceptibles de fournir des informations nécessaires qui permettent de déclencher et de poursuivre la procédure d’approbation parlementaire d’un acte international.

En termes de communication, le Secrétariat général veille à une diffusion cohérente d’informations institutionnelles et ministérielles vers le grand public par le biais de divers canaux de communication. Afin de garantir une communication structurée, le Secrétariat général a établi une Cellule d’information et de communication (CIC), cellule qui se compose du Secrétaire général adjoint, du coordinateur général de la promotion de l’image de marque du Luxembourg, de l’attaché de presse du ministre ainsi que des agents en charge de la communication.

Finalement, le Secrétariat général assure encore la gestion de l’outil informatique et du site internet, des archives et du courrier, la sécurité du Ministère et des missions diplomatiques et consulaires.

Dernière mise à jour