Candidacy to the Human Rights Council 2022-2024

EN H Candidature CDH

The United Nations Human Rights Council is an intergovernmental body within the United Nations system established in 2006 which is responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the world. Its mission is also to address situations of human rights violations and to formulate recommendations on them. It has the ability to discuss all human rights issues and situations that require its attention throughout the year.

The Council meets at the United Nations Office at Geneva three times a year for regular sessions in March (4 weeks), June (3 weeks) and September (3 weeks). At the request of one third of its Member States, the Human Rights Council may decide at any time to convene extraordinary sessions to deal with human rights violations and emergencies. The Council is made up of 47 Member States, which are elected by the United Nations General Assembly in New York. All United Nations Member States can participate in discussions during the proceedings of the Human Rights Council as observers, however only the 47 Member States can participate in voting on resolutions.

The promotion and protection of human rights is a priority for the Government of Luxembourg both domestically and in the implementation of its foreign policy in all its aspects. So far, Luxembourg has taken part as a proactive observer in the work of the Council. By presenting for the first time its candidacy to the Human Rights Council, for the 2022-2024 term, Luxembourg continues to honour its commitment to multilateralism and vows to dedicate its tenure as a member of the Human Rights Council to the protection of the rights of all human beings.

The brochure presenting Luxembourg's candidature and its priorities is currently available in English and French. Five other language versions (Arabic, Chinese, Russian, Spanish, and Portuguese) will also be available soon.

Last update

Candidature au Conseil des droits de l'homme 2022-2024

FR H Candidature CDH

Le Conseil des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies est un organe intergouvernemental du système des Nations Unies créé en 2006 qui est chargé de renforcer la promotion et la protection des droits humains dans le monde. Il a également pour mission de faire face à des situations de violations des droits humains et de formuler des recommandations à leur sujet. Il est en mesure d’examiner toutes les questions et situations en lien avec les droits humains qui nécessitent son attention, et ce tout au long de l’année.

Le Conseil des droits de l’homme se réunit à l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève trois fois par an pour des sessions ordinaires en mars (4 semaines), en juin (3 semaines) et en septembre (3 semaines). A la demande d’un tiers de ses Etats membres, le Conseil des droits de l’homme peut à tout moment décider de convoquer des sessions extraordinaires pour traiter des violations des droits humains et des urgences. Le Conseil est composé de 47 Etats membres qui sont élus par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies à New York. Tous les Etats membres des Nations Unies peuvent participer aux discussions pendant les travaux du Conseil des droits de l’homme en tant qu’observateurs, cependant seuls les 47 Etats membres peuvent participer aux votes sur les résolutions.

La promotion et la défense des droits humains est une priorité du Gouvernement luxembourgeois, tant au niveau national qu’à travers les différents vecteurs de son action extérieure. Jusqu’à présent, le Luxembourg a participé activement aux travaux du Conseil en tant qu’observateur. En présentant pour la première fois sa candidature au Conseil des droits de l’homme, pour le mandat 2022-2024, le Luxembourg veut continuer d’assumer ses responsabilités dans le contexte multilatéral et souhaite mettre son engagement en tant que membre à part entière du Conseil des droits de l’homme au service de la protection des droits de tous les êtres humains.

La brochure présentant la candidature du Luxembourg et ses priorités est actuellement disponible en français et en anglais. Cinq autres versions linguistiques (arabe, chinoise, espagnole, russe et portugaise) seront également bientôt disponibles.

Dernière mise à jour