European affairs

The Ministry’s Directorate of International Economic Relations and European Affairs (Directorate II) coordinates European policy between the ministerial departments. It chairs the Inter-ministerial committee for European policy coordination (Comité interministériel de coordination de la politique européenne - CICPE), and coordinates the transposition and application of European Union law. In European Policy matters, Directorate II is the main point of contact for Luxembourg institutions and authorities. In this context, it is responsible for preparing the government’s annual report on European policy as well as the annual report on the transposition of European directives submitted to the Chamber of Deputies.

Moreover, Directorate II is in charge of coordinating bilateral relations with European countries. It also coordinates Luxembourg’s positions on enlargement of the European Union and the Eastern Partnership.

Directorate II also represents Luxembourg within the European forums responsible for the Common Commercial Policy, which deal in particular with trade negotiations as well as the anti-dumping, anti-subsidy and market access portfolios.

Application of EU law - transposition of European directives

The 2018 report on the implementation of European directives and the application of European Union law, coordinated by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs, was submitted to the Chamber of Deputies on 22nd June 2018. The report was elaborated as part of the memorandum (‘aide-mémoire’) concluded between the Chamber of Deputies and the Luxembourgish government in relation to their cooperation on European policy.

After experiencing an increase in its transposition deficit in 2015 and 2016, Luxembourg now again complies with the 1%-threshold set by the March 2007 European Council. By the end of the second semester of 2017, the deficit ratio had been reduced from 1.1% to 1%. The European Commission’s internal market scoreboard for the first half of 2018 will confirm this downward trend, as Luxembourg’s transposition deficit will be down to 0.8%. This constitutes a significant improvement compared to the previous year.

With regard to the implementation of European Union law, it should be noted that the number of infringement proceedings for non-compliance of Luxembourg law with EU law has been decreasing continuously over the past years (see 2nd part of the report).

In its first part, the report reviews Luxembourg’s results in the European Commission’s internal market scoreboards. The 2nd part then concentrates on infringements proceedings initiated by the European Commission against Luxembourg - either for failure to transpose directives within the prescribed period or for non-compliance of national law with EU law. Finally, the 3rd part reviews the progress made by the different ministerial departments in transposing those European directives for which the European Commission has not yet been notified of national implementation measures.

Report on the government's European policy

Inter-ministerial committee for European policy coordination (Comité interministériel de coordination de la politique européenne - CICPE)

The Inter-ministerial committee for European policy coordination (CICPE) convenes senior civil servants of the ministries involved in European affairs, joined by the permanent representative and/or the deputy permanent representative of Luxembourg to the European Union. Their task is to coordinate Luxembourg’s position on cross-cutting European matters. Chaired by the director of European affairs and international economic relations of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs (MFEA), the Committee regularly reviews the key items on the agendas of the European Council and of the various different configurations of the Council of the EU. Furthermore, at each meeting, the CICPE examines the issues of particular interest to Luxembourg, which require close consultation between the various ministries. The MFEA can also organise inter-ministerial meetings in restricted formats for in-depth discussion of certain specific issues.

The CICPE’s task is to prepare matters on which political decision-making is required, if necessary by convening a Cabinet meeting. Moreover, it acts as a forum for regular exchange of views between ministries. On the government’s behalf, the CICPE also ensures the promotion of dialogues with the economic and social spheres on European issues.

The Committee monitors the transposition of European directives with the purpose of adhering to the deadlines set for transposition. A transposition deficit below 1% on the European Commission’s internal market scoreboard is targeted. The Committee also defined a state of play of the infringement procedures initiated by the European Commission for failure to transpose a directive within the deadline, or for the incorrect or incomplete implementation of EU law.

The CICPE complements the network of European contacts, which is the primary communication tool between the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and the other ministries, or even administrative authorities.

Last update

Affaires européennes

La Direction des relations économiques internationales et des affaires européennes (Direction II) du ministère assure la coordination de la politique européenne entre les départements ministériels. Elle préside le Comité interministériel de coordination de la politique européenne (CICPE), et assure la coordination de la transposition et de l’application du droit de l’Union européenne. La Direction II est l’interlocuteur privilégié des institutions et instances luxembourgeoises en matière de politique européenne; dans ce contexte elle a la charge de préparer le rapport annuel sur la politique européenne du gouvernement, ainsi que le rapport annuel sur la transposition des directives européennes soumis à la Chambre des députés.

La Direction II assume en outre la coordination des relations bilatérales avec les pays européens. Elle coordonne également les positions du Luxembourg en matière d’élargissement de l’Union européenne, et de partenariat oriental.

La Direction II représente aussi le Luxembourg au sein des enceintes européennes en charge de la politique commerciale commune, qui traitent notamment des négociations commerciales ainsi que des dossiers antidumping, antisubventions et d’accès au marché.

Application du droit de l’UE - transposition des directives européennes

L’édition 2018 du Rapport sur la transposition des directives européennes et l’application du droit de l’Union européenne, qui est coordonnée par le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes, a été soumise à la Chambre des députés le 22 juin 2018. L’élaboration de ce rapport s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’aide-mémoire conclu entre la Chambre des députés et le Gouvernement luxembourgeois sur la coopération en matière de politique européenne.

Après une hausse du taux en 2015 et 2016, le déficit de transposition du Luxembourg respecte à nouveau le seuil de 1% fixé par le Conseil européen de mars 2007. Le taux de déficit a été ramené à 1,1% à la fin du premier semestre 2017 pour finir avec un résultat de 1% lors du scoreboard du marché intérieur de la Commission européenne du deuxième semestre 2017. Le déficit de transposition du Luxembourg du premier semestre 2018 sera de 0,8%, ce qui représente donc une nette amélioration par rapport à l’année dernière.

Pour ce qui est de la mise en œuvre du droit de l’Union européenne au sens large, il convient de noter que le nombre de procédures d’infraction pour non-conformité du droit luxembourgeois avec le droit de l’Union européenne continue sa baisse depuis les dernières années (cf. 2e partie du présent rapport).

La 1ère partie du présent rapport se penche sur les résultats du Luxembourg dans les scoreboards du marché intérieur publiés par la Commission européenne. Dans une 2e partie, il se concentre sur l’ensemble des procédures d’infraction engagées par la Commission européenne à l’égard du Luxembourg, soit pour non-transposition de directives dans le délai soit pour non-conformité du droit luxembourgeois avec le droit de l’Union. Enfin, la 3e partie renseigne, par département ministériel, sur l’état d’avancement des travaux de transposition de toutes les directives européennes dont les mesures nationales d’exécution n’ont pas encore été notifiées à la Commission européenne.

Rapport sur la politique européenne du gouvernement

Comité interministériel de coordination de la politique européenne (CICPE)

Le Comité interministériel de coordination de la politique européenne (CICPE) réunit des hauts fonctionnaires des ministères concernés par les affaires européennes, en présence du représentant permanent et/ou du représentant permanent adjoint du Luxembourg auprès de l’Union européenne, afin de coordonner la position luxembourgeoise sur des dossiers européens transversaux. Présidé par le directeur des affaires européennes et des relations économiques internationales du ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes (MAEE), le Comité passe régulièrement en revue les sujets clés à l’ordre du jour du Conseil européen et des différentes formations du Conseil de l’UE. Par ailleurs, le CICPE se penche à chaque réunion sur des dossiers d’intérêt particulier pour le Luxembourg qui requièrent une concertation étroite entre les différents ministères. Le MAEE peut également organiser des réunions interministérielles en configuration restreinte pour discuter en profondeur certains dossiers spécifiques.

Le CICPE a comme tâche de préparer, le cas échéant par une réunion au niveau du Conseil de gouvernement, les éléments sur lesquels un arbitrage politique s’impose. Il joue par ailleurs le rôle de forum pour des échanges de vues réguliers entre ministères et il veillera à promouvoir pour le compte du gouvernement le dialogue avec les secteurs économiques et sociaux sur les questions européennes.

Le Comité assure le suivi en matière de transposition des directives européennes, dans l’optique de respecter les délais de transposition imposés et de maintenir un déficit de transposition en dessous de la barre de 1% dans le scoreboard du marché intérieur de la Commission européenne. Le comité dresse également un état des lieux des procédures d’infraction engagées par la Commission européenne en raison de non transposition de directive dans le délai ou de mise en œuvre incorrecte ou incomplète du droit de l’UE.

Le CICPE est complémentaire au réseau des correspondants européens qui est l’outil principal de communication entre le ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes et les autres ministères, voire administrations.

Dernière mise à jour