Communication by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs concerning temporary immigration measures

The Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs wishes to inform that the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has acted on the Council Recommendation (EU) 2021/1085 of 1 July 2021 amending Recommendation (EU) 2020/912 on the temporary restriction on non-essential travel into the EU and the possible lifting of such restriction.

The list of third countries whose residents should not be affected by a temporary restriction at the external borders on non-essential travel to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg has therefore been updated, adding, with effect from 12 July 2021, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Jordan, Kosovo, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar and Saudi Arabia.

Consequently, as of 12 July 2021, third-country nationals residing in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Jordan, Kosovo, the Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Qatar and Saudi Arabia will again be allowed to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Proof of residence is the responsibility of the third-country national.

The updated list of third countries whose residents are authorised to enter the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg thus reads as follows:

  • States
    • Albania
    • Armenia 
    • Australia
    • Azerbaijan 
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Brunei Darussalam
    • Canada 
    • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at EU level)
    • Israel
    • Japan
    • Jordan 
    • Kosovo 
    • Lebanon
    • Montenegro 
    • New Zealand
    • Qatar  
    • Republic of Moldova 
    • Republic of North Macedonia
    • Rwanda
    • Saudi Arabia 
    • Serbia
    • Singapore
    • South Korea
    • Thailand
    • United States of America
  • Special administrative regions of the People's Republic of China
    • Hong Kong SAR
    • Macao SAR
  • Entities and territorial authorities not recognised as States by at least one Member State of the European Union
    • Taiwan

It should be noted that the list applies only to travel by third-country nationals to the Grand Duchy and not to travel by residents of Luxembourg to the States, regions and entities in question.

It is recalled that, any person aged 6 years or above, wishing to travel by air to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg is required to present, before boarding a flight to Luxembourg:

  1. either a vaccination certificate attesting to a complete vaccination pattern [1] carried out with a vaccine that has been authorised for use by the European Medicines Agency, i.e. the vaccines of the companies AstraZeneca, BioNTech/Pfizer, Johnson&Johnson and Moderna, issued by a public or medical authority of a Member State of the European Union or of a Member State of the Schengen Area
  2. or a recovery certificate issued by a physician or national authority of an EU Member State or Schengen Area Member State for persons who have had a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 6 months prior to travel and who have completed the applicable isolation period in the respective country with resolution of all symptoms of infection
  3. or the negative result (on paper or electronically) of a nucleic acid amplification test (NAAT) for the detection of SARS-CoV-2 viral RNA (PCR, TMA or LAMP methods[2]) carried out less than 72 hours before the flight or of a SARS-CoV-2 rapid antigen test[3] carried out less than 48 hours before the flight, by a medical analysis laboratory or any other entity authorised for this purpose. The negative result of the test must be presented, if necessary accompanied by a translation, in one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg or in English, Italian, Spanish or Portuguese.

Note that additional sanitary measures are applicable until 15 July 2021 for the United Kingdom and for India.

The list of all the exemptions as well as the exact procedures to be carried out beforehand can be consulted by following the link below:


[1] a) A complete vaccination pattern means any pattern that defines the number and interval of injections necessary to achieve sufficient protective immunity and is complete upon administration of the required doses if multiple doses are given or, for single-dose vaccines, after a 14-day interval. b) For persons who have recovered and have been vaccinated within 180 days of the first positive NAAT test result, the vaccination pattern is complete 14 days after the administration of the single dose of any vaccine administered.

[2] PCR: polymerase chain reaction; TMA: transcription-mediated amplification; LAMP: loop-mediated isothermal amplification.

[3] In accordance with the World Health Organization criteria: Antigen-detection in the diagnosis of SARS-CoV-2 infection using rapid immunoassays, Interim Guidance, 11 September 2020, and listed in the list of rapid antigen tests established on the basis of Recommendation 2021/C24/01 of 22 January 2021.

Press release by the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs

Last update